Longlist Announced for the 2022 Klaus Flugge Prize

Celebrating outstanding newcomers to picture book illustration

The longlist for the 2022 Klaus Flugge Prize is announced today (Thursday 17 February 2022). Established in 2016, the Klaus Flugge Prize is awarded to the most promising and exciting newcomer to children’s picture book illustration. It honours Klaus Flugge, founder of publisher Andersen Press and a supremely influential figure in picture books.

Previous Klaus Flugge Prize winners include Jessica Love in 2019 for Julian is a Mermaid, Francesca Sanna in 2017 for The Journey, Kate Milner for My Name is Not Refugee in 2018 and Eva Eland for When Sadness Comes to Call in 2020.

Flavia Z Drago was the 2021 winner with Gustavo the Shy Ghost, and returns this year as a judge alongside acclaimed illustrator Emily Gravett; Martin Salisbury, Professor of Illustration at Cambridge School of Art in Anglia Ruskin University; and Nikki Bi Co-Founder and the Beyond Books Lead at Civic Square in Birmingham. The panel will be chaired by Julia Eccleshare, director of the children’s programme of the Hay Festival.

For the second consecutive year, over fifty books were submitted and from 34 different publishing houses, proof of publishers’ commitment to commissioning and developing new illustrators. 24 have made it onto the longlist.

Julia Eccleshare says: “Providing their first experience of books and reading, picture books are vital to children’s development, opening up the world and providing all-important early encounters with art and story. It is always exhilarating therefore to consider the books submitted for the Klaus Flugge Prize and we are delighted to have received so many entries this year and to be celebrating these exciting, talented newcomers. The prize is international in scope, with illustrators from many different countries represented here, and publishers large, small and tiny. Our thanks as always to Klaus Flugge for his generous sponsorship and ongoing support for new picture book talent.”

Click here to see the 2022 longlist in full.

The shortlist will be announced on 18 May 2022 and the winner will be revealed in September.

For more information and interview requests contact Andrea Reece
020 8889 1292/ 07807893369


The Klaus Flugge Prize is funded personally by Klaus Flugge and run independently of Andersen Press.

Website maintenance & Copyright © 2021 Andersen Press. All Rights Reserved. Privacy & Cookie Policy.