Roller-dancing bear with fabulous hair wins the 2022 Klaus Flugge Prize

Joseph Namara Hollis named most exciting newcomer to children’s picture book illustration with Pierre’s New Hair

  • Pierre’s New Hair is dedicated to ‘everyone chasing their dreams’; Hollis sees winning as a sign to keep doing what he loves most
  • Pierre’s experience also shows readers that the pursuit of perfection can get you into a bit of tangle
  • Renowned illustrator Emily Gravett and 2021 Klaus Flugge Prize winner Flavia Drago among judges

@KlausFluggePrize   #KlausFluggePrize2022

Wednesday 14 September – Joseph Namara Hollis has won the 2022 Klaus Flugge Prize for the most exciting and promising newcomer to children’s picture book illustration. He won for his book Pierre’s New Hair (Tate Publishing) about a bear obsessed with looking good but also desperate to show the world his roller-skating flair.

As Pierre and the rest of the Bear Squad prepare to enter the Roller Stars Championships, his efforts to create the perfect quiff almost end in disaster, until his friends come to the rescue. Working in pen and ink and using strong graphic colours, Hollis fills the pages with energy and detail, and for all the absurdity, Pierre’s world is real and recognisable. The Klaus Flugge Prize judges found the story full of warmth and humour, admiring the composition and creation of character.

Judge renowned illustrator Emily Gravett says, "Pierre’s New Hair is like a breath of fresh air. It made me laugh out loud. What impressed me was the way that Joseph was able to conjure up a whole world for his characters to inhabit. It was our winner because we loved how every aspect of the book fitted together perfectly to make this a quirky fun book to read.”

Established in 2016, the Klaus Flugge Prize was founded to honour publisher Klaus Flugge, a supremely influential figure in picture books. Flugge set up Andersen Press in 1976 and discovered and nurtured many of today's most distinguished illustrators including David McKee, Tony Ross, Satoshi Kitamura, Ruth Brown and Susan Varley. Previous winners of the Klaus Flugge Prize include Eva Eland, Jessica Love and Kate Milner.

Describing himself as “dizzy with gratitude”, Joseph Namara Hollis says, “Winning the Klaus Flugge Prize is invigorating. There is a sentiment in the book about letting go, enjoying the moment and not worrying too much about how you’ll be perceived. This is a necessity when working creatively. It’s also a paradox because whilst struggling to avoid being overly concerned with what other people might think, the hope is to form a meaningful connection with readers. To know my work has touched the judges is fulfilling, it has reinforced my belief - keep doing what you love most." Praising the five other shortlisted illustrators, he added, “The Klaus Flugge Prize shows we’re all roller-skating in the right direction.”

Chair of the judges, Julia Eccleshare says: “Once again, this year’s shortlist was very strong and we will follow the careers of all the shortlisted illustrators with huge interest. Congratulations to Joseph for Pierre’s New Hair which is original and a joy to look at. While very funny, it also slips in a message about valuing what’s really important – friends, joy, art.”

The announcement was made on the evening of Wednesday 14 September. Guests were invited to observe a brief silence as a mark of remembrance for the Queen during this period of national mourning.

Joseph Namara Hollis wins £5,000.

Alongside Flavia Z Drago and Emily Gravett, the judges are Nikki Bi, Co-Founder and the Beyond Books Lead at Civic Square in Birmingham; and Professor Martin Salisbury, Professor of Illustration at Cambridge School of Art in Anglia Ruskin University. Julia Eccleshare, director of the Children’s Programme at the Hay Festival, is Chair of the Judges.

Joseph Namara Hollis is available for interview.

For more information, images and interview requests contact Andrea Reece
020 8889 1292/ 07807893369


The Klaus Flugge Prize is funded personally by Klaus Flugge and run independently of Andersen Press.

Website maintenance & Copyright © 2023 Andersen Press. All Rights Reserved. Privacy & Cookie Policy.